Wanna Be Vegetarian Allergic To Nuts & Soy

Is becoming a vegetarian possible with nuts|soy allergies? Find good sources of protein in beans, lentils and whole grains

vegetarian chili

I’m interested in becoming a vegetarian but I’m allergic to soy and nuts so I want to know if there are other sources of protein available – R. S.


Savvy Vegetarian Facebook Page

Savvy Vegetarian Advice:

Beans, lentils and whole grains would be your main sources of protein if you want to be egg and dairy free. Otherwise you could include those.

Seitan (or wheat gluten) is another possibility. You can make your own but it’s also readily available in stores right next to the tofu.

Vegetarian chili, pictured above is an example of the many tasty dishes you can eat without ever touching nuts and soy.

Is it just tree nuts that you’re allergic to, or peanuts too? Can you eat seeds, such as sunflower, pumpkin, sesame and flax? If so, that expands your protein sources. For instance, you can eat hummus!


Quinoa Recipe Ebook

Medical Disclaimer: Any changes that you make to your diet, and the results of those changes, are your decision and responsibility. I do not claim to be a health care professional, dietitian, or nutritionist. Savvy Vegetarian does not treat, or recommend treatment, for any illness or health condition – Judith Kingsbury, Savvy Vegetarian

See our plant food protein chart for more info on sources of veg protein. Note that some vegetables are also good secondary protein sources.

Judith Kingsbury, Savvy Vegetarian

Stumbleupon    Follow Savvy Veg On Twitter;    Join Savvy Veg on Facebook;    Pinterest        Google+        

4 Responses to “Wanna Be Vegetarian Allergic To Nuts & Soy”

  1. Savvy Veg says:

    Hi Sam, yes soy is a bean, but that doesn’t mean that because someone is allergic to soy, that they must avoid all beans. Just as with grains and nuts and seeds, different beans have different nutritional profiles and properties. That means that if one kind of bean or nut doesn’t agree with someone, that other kinds will be fine to eat. There are many varieties of beans and lentils to choose from, and most of them do not have the allergens that soy has.

  2. Sam says:

    So frustrated that every article I find about being allergic to nuts and soy suggests beans. Don’t people realize that beans are closely related to soy and if you can’t handle soy you most likely can’t eat beans of any kind either?

  3. Veronica Waks MD, ND says:

    the other source of protein is chia seed. buy bulk, but first try it; buy a small portion.

  4. Anonymous says:

    If you can tolerate seeds, I'd recommend hemp.

    "Hemp protein contains all 21 known amino acids, including the 8 essential amino acids that adult bodies are unable to produce. It is rich in vitamin E, iron, and contains 33% protein. This means that per serving, hemp contains more protein than meat, fish, chicken and cheese."
    from http://www.hempreport.com

    Rice protein powder is also another available option.

Leave a Reply



Savvy Vegetarian