- Savvy Vegetarian Blog - https://www.savvyvegetarian.com/blog -

Wanna Be Vegetarian Allergic To Nuts & Soy

Is becoming a vegetarian possible with nuts|soy allergies? Find good sources of protein in beans, lentils and whole grains

vegetarian chili

I’m interested in becoming a vegetarian but I’m allergic to soy and nuts so I want to know if there are other sources of protein available – R. S.


Savvy Vegetarian Facebook Page

Savvy Vegetarian Advice:

Beans, lentils and whole grains would be your main sources of protein if you want to be egg and dairy free. Otherwise you could include those.

Seitan (or wheat gluten) is another possibility. You can make your own but it’s also readily available in stores right next to the tofu.

Vegetarian chili [1], pictured above is an example of the many tasty dishes you can eat without ever touching nuts and soy.

Is it just tree nuts that you’re allergic to, or peanuts too? Can you eat seeds, such as sunflower, pumpkin, sesame and flax? If so, that expands your protein sources. For instance, you can eat hummus [2]!


Quinoa Recipe Ebook

Medical Disclaimer: Any changes that you make to your diet, and the results of those changes, are your decision and responsibility. I do not claim to be a health care professional, dietitian, or nutritionist. Savvy Vegetarian does not treat, or recommend treatment, for any illness or health condition – Judith Kingsbury, Savvy Vegetarian

See our plant food protein chart [3] for more info on sources of veg protein. Note that some vegetables are also good secondary protein sources.

Judith Kingsbury, Savvy Vegetarian

[6] [7]